Bubblegum is a recent addition to the Artists’ Book Collection which was created in part right here in the Library.


Bubblegum was created by four artists — Tine Bek, Jessica Higgins, Nick Lynch and Matthew Walkerdine. The premise was for each artist to make 100 photocopies each, and create a harmonious book with them.


The artists describe the content as follows: “We took a stretch each and the varying styles sing through with sometimes a huge gap between subject matter chosen. Sometimes not. Some sections have a running ‘theme’, some are coarsely black and white, some more tonally vague. On the whole, the images are untouched coming through in the book as they were copied from the machine.


The aim of this book was to create a lot on very little, or more on what is available, and do it together. A resource we were and still are all able to approach and a wealth of content being at our fingertips.”

You can view this title, or any other in the Artists’ Book Collection by filling out the form here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s